The Château de Chillon (Chillon Castle) – located on the shore of Lake Geneva in the commune of Veytaux, at the eastern end of the lake, 3 km from Montreux, Switzerland. The castle contains 100 independent buildings that were slowly connected to convert the building as it stands now.
The oldest parts of the castle have not been absolutely dated, but the first written record of the castle is in 1160 or 1005. From the mid-12th century, the castle was home to the Counts of Savoy, and it was greatly prolonged in the 13th century by Pietro II. The Castle was never taken in a siege, but did change hands through agreements.
Chillon is presently open to the public for visits and tours. According to the castle website, Chillon is listed as “Switzerland’s most visited historic monument“. There is a fee for entry and there are both parking spaces and a bus stop nearby for travel. Inside the castle there are numerous reformations of the interiors of some of the main rooms including the grand bedroom, hall and cave stores. Inside the castle itself there are four great halls, three courtyards, and a series of bedrooms open to the public. One of the eldest is the Camera domini, which was a room occupied by the Duke of Savoy – it is decorated with 14th Century medieval murals.